21
Oct
06

Vortices

Here is another code to solve Euler’s equation (inviscid flow) and plot the pathlines. This method was adapted from Stephen Montgomery-Smith’sEuler2D program. The vortex effects are found using the Biot-Savart law and the differential equations are solved using the Adams Bashforth method. Click here to download some Matlab code for this. Shown below is some Mathematica code:
(* runtime: 19 seconds *)
ToPoint[z_] := {Re[z], Im[z]};dt = 0.01; rcore = 0.1; dz0 = 0; Klist = {1, -1, 1, -1};
zlist = Join[{-1 - 0.5I, -1 + 0.5I, -0.5 - 0.5I, -0.5 + 0.5I}, Flatten[Table[x + I y, {x, -1, 1, 0.1}, {y, -1, 1, 0.1}], 1]];
paths = Map[# Table[1, {10}] &, zlist];
Do[dz = Map[Sum[zj = zlist[[j]]; If[# != zj, r2 = Abs[# - zj]^2; I Klist[[j]](zj - #)/r2 (1 -Exp[-r2/rcore^2]), 0], {j, 1, Length[Klist]}] &, zlist]; zlist += dt (1.5dz - 0.5dz0); dz0 = dz; paths = Table[Prepend[Delete[paths[[i]], -1], zlist[[i]]], {i, 1, Length[zlist]}];Show[Graphics[Map[Line[Map[ToPoint, #]] &, paths], PlotRange -> {{-1, 1}, {-1, 1}}, AspectRatio -> Automatic]], {85}];

Link: math paper by Stephen Montgomery-Smith, seems fairly advanced to me

1 Response to “Vortices”


  1. 1 Yechun
    March 5, 2010 at 1:13 am

    Hello, I am wondering what is the software that you are using to create the movie for pathlines. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Welcome !

You will find here some of my favorite hobbies and interests, especially science and art.

I hope you enjoy it!

Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay informed when I publish something new here.

I would love to hear from you! Please feel free to send me an email : bugman123-at-gmail-dot-com

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 546,238 hits

