02
Mar
07

CFM56-5 Turbofan Jet Engine

I saw this cool looking poster of a turbofan engine schematic and it inspired me to make a 3D rendering of it. This engine is used for the Airbus. The streamlines shown here are just for visual effect. In reality, the streamlines would be turbulent. The blue streamlines show where cold air enters and bypasses the engine (turbofans typically have a high bypass ratio). Green streamlines are shown through the compressor stages. The red streamlines show where hot gas exits the burners and turbine stage.


CFM56-5 Turbofan Jet Engine – drawn in AutoCAD 2000, AutoLisp, rendered in POV-Ray 3.6.1, 3/2/07

9 Responses to “CFM56-5 Turbofan Jet Engine”


  1. 1 Erica
    April 16, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Nice model! Do you have this in a compatible file format for solid works. I would like to use this 3D model on an aircraft design project with your permission.
    Thanks,
    Erica

  2. 2 nylander
    April 16, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    I do not know of any easy way to convert the model into SolidWorks. The way I created the turbofan was to draw a series of 2D profiles in AutoCAD and then revolve them in POV-Ray. The fan blades were created from an array of twisted boxes. I hope that helps.

  3. July 8, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Hi…
    I am a member of the CFM marketing department… Great Model!
    I was wanting your permission to present this to the rest of my team
    for consideration for use on the CFM website.

    Thanks!
    Amanda Wilson
    Visual Marketing Communications
    CFM International

  4. 4 Page Strohl
    September 5, 2008 at 2:16 am

    Great Cad model. I am curious how accurate the model is. Where did you get the 2D profiles? How accurate is the model (are blade counts accurate)?

  5. November 13, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Nice modeling, hope ican create model like that…
    please visit my art gallery at http://agna.deviantart.com/gallery/

  6. 6 Miguel Gil
    October 6, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    What is the reason for the Vortex on top of the GE Engine on the B737NG.

    Best regards, Miguel.

  7. October 23, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Star Trek Engine D= (9/0) CNC D=(> (9/0)

  8. 8 Phil
    April 11, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    Nice one.
    I was wondering, where did you get so much details? I can’t barely find any dimension about it.

    best regards
    Phil


Leave a Reply

Welcome !

You will find here some of my favorite hobbies and interests, especially science and art.

I hope you enjoy it!

Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay informed when I publish something new here.

I would love to hear from you! Please feel free to send me an email : bugman123-at-gmail-dot-com

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 543,881 hits

